hiteksoftware.com Forum Index hiteksoftware.com
User discussion forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Selective Exporting/Importing of Tasks

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    hiteksoftware.com Forum Index -> Frequently Asked Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zickb



Joined: 10 Apr 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 12:17 pm    Post subject: Selective Exporting/Importing of Tasks Reply with quote

This is a development environment and process issue.

We have numerous tasks for multiple customers. We also have multiple developers who all have their own developmental systems and are assigned to specific customers.

There is only a single Production Automize system.

So if each developer makes changes on his system to his assigned customer tasks, how do we "merge" these changes into the single production system without impacting other customer tasks?

We initially tried copying directories within Windows, but had a situation where it completely "hosed" Automize and required a new install to correct the issues. That's something you can't have happen in a Production environment.

This is a serious request as we have invested in several copies of Automize (Enterprise).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Robert
Site Admin


Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 1140

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Automize does not care about various users editing tasks etc.. but very often the OS does care. Windows Vista and 7 and some server versions, for example will isolate tasks transparently within the data folder.
so:
1) On production system, make sure that all creating, editing, deleting of tasks, profiles, settings, schedules are done via One Single user account X only.
2) This user account X should have been the one that installed the software and NT service if using it. This user account X should be the only account that starts the NT service or opens the user interface.
3) When a developer changes or adds new tasks, make him do it via the GUI on his system.
4) Then user account X can physically copy the task file to the tasks folder.
5) Then open the task in the GUI, verify settings and save it again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zickb



Joined: 10 Apr 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:36 am    Post subject: "....copy the task file to the tasks folder" Reply with quote

We've tried copying folders and it created the following issues within Automize:

Encryption/decryption would not work
Consumed tremendous amounts of memory.
Could not exit out of (close) Automize application.

Also in a real time production environment this is too risky.

I'll assume from your response that the development to provide this feature is extensive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
melvin
Site Admin


Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 635
Location: Santa Barbara, california

PostPosted: Sun Sep 26, 2010 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes. and besides you are probably the first who requested this feature.

I tried moving encryption and decryption tasks from one PC to another as described by Robert above and had no problems.
In encryption/decription added care has to be taken that the
1) profiles should exist (be created manually on prod system before moving tasks over)
2) the public and private keys that were used on dev. system should be imported into keystore before running tasks.

otherwise, I see no difference between encyrption and other tasks. many users have copied tasks into folders without any issue. The only time problems may occur is when they edit/duplicate tasks using notepad or windows rather than the gui. On Dev. system, did you edit/copy/duplicate the tasks via the GUI or manually using notepad etc?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    hiteksoftware.com Forum Index -> Frequently Asked Questions All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group