hiteksoftware.com Forum Index hiteksoftware.com
User discussion forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Need method for configuring a test environment- Automize 9

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    hiteksoftware.com Forum Index -> Frequently Asked Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rsamoose



Joined: 27 Oct 2008
Posts: 28
Location: Bethlehem, PA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 03, 2010 8:24 am    Post subject: Need method for configuring a test environment- Automize 9 Reply with quote

We are trying to determine the best methodology for creating a test environment. We use automize for several different jobs. Most of these jobs are a combination of Chains calling Java scripts calling tasks or Chains of task with intermixed scripts. Most scripts access variable names of tasks. We currently use 46 tasks and scripts

We are trying to create a test environment in which we can easily change the incoming and outgoing paths (includes SFTP in, SFTP-out, Test folders- in, test folders-out). We are currently facing the daunting task of having to change the path names manually via the user interface or possibly using a text editor to open each file and perform a find/replace on the pathes.
Is there a way to use a variable as part of the path when creating tasks?
Our solution needs to pass the UNC test as we are accessing an SFTP server on a different subnet.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
melvin
Site Admin


Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 635
Location: Santa Barbara, california

PostPosted: Sun Sep 05, 2010 7:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, you can use user defined variables.
In the data\variables folder, there is a file called userVariables.jsd.
You can edit this file using wordpad or notepad.
Enter:
path1=c\:\\test
path2=c\:\\temp
...

save the file. everytime you need to change/modify the path, modify it here.

Then you can use $%path1%$ to reference the variable path1 within the task.


: and \ have to be escaped with \
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    hiteksoftware.com Forum Index -> Frequently Asked Questions All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group