Calling Dynamic Task

Discuss Task Sequences and Scripting related issues.

Postby Tech Support » Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:33 am

1) one way to launch the FTP task dynamically would be to call a dummy Variable monitor task where a variable condition is always satisfied.
2) To set the 'task to run' parameter (parameter 4) in the variable monitor task dynamically, use the 'set parameter' task.

Variable monitor settings:
task title = variablemonitor
variable name = USERNAME
variable value = your_username
comparision criteria = Equals
Task to run = dynamically filled in by 'Set parameter' task

Set Parameter task settings:
task title = setpar
task title = variablemonitor
parameter = 4
parameter value = ftp_task_title (this field supports variables)

the other method is to set the 'Task to run' parameter 4 of the variable monitor task via the 'set task parameter' commandline utility . Utility menu / Commandline menu / Set task parameter menu.
Tech Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 11:12 am

Postby Tech Support » Wed Mar 11, 2009 8:45 am

yes, you could set a dynamic user variable for each script. There is a set variable task. so for script 1, you could set a variable using a set variable task with following settings:
variable name = script1filemonitor
variable value = file_monitor_task_title - file monitoring directory

of course, for you it is more complicated since it has to be done dynamically.

you can also try adding the INSTANCE variable which varies for each file monitor task instance.
Tech Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 11:12 am

Postby Tech Support » Tue Mar 24, 2009 3:04 pm

GOOD for you :D

You will now want to automate a lot more stuff using the script task, that is not possible using just the GUI tasks.
Tech Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 11:12 am


Return to Task Sequences, Chains and Scripts

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron