File already exists error

Discuss Mac, Windows, Linux, Unix platform specific issues

File already exists error

Postby Tech Support » Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:17 am

user email support issue:

We are trying to use Automize in a highly secure environment. One unavoidable requirement is to log the creation, opening, and destruction of all files, and any associated errors. Our scans indicate that Automize appears to be manipulating files (the audit log isn't specific about read/write/create) in its tmp area at a rate of about 1000 events per second.

90% of them are for files in the data/tasks directory.

Further investigation shows that Automize appears to be trying to create a file that seems to already exist, as the error is along the lines of "file already exists".

Please help. We need to find a way to either configure this behavior away, or get a fix to this problem, since the amount of logging that this generates is unacceptably high.

Analysis of 40 minutes of data collection: with the data collector configured to monitor 32 sites once every 3 minutes, the /var filesystem on vdmssvr03 grew at an estimated rate of 308MB per hour.

This excludes a spike of 20MB during one 15 second interval that xxxxxxx says is probably associated with her test of what the collector does when a site goes down.

Methodology: measurements of /var were taken via "df -k" every 15 seconds.

Thank you,
Tech Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 11:12 am

Postby Tech Support » Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:18 am

which folder is Automize installed into?

Make sure that you cd to the Automize install folder and then launch the user interface.
In your case, the engine and user interface are running in different working directories... hence files are not being found.
BOTH engine and user interface working directory SHOULD BE the Automize install folder.

Do the following:
1) From user interface, shut down the engine (big sperical green button)
2) Shut down user interface
3) Make sure there is no instance of java running in process list
4) cd to the Automize installation folder
5) launch the user interface. it will launch the engine with the correct working directory.

Nov 7, 2006 6:09:26 PM User Interface Program = Automize, User Interface Version = 7.05, User Interface Working directory = /external/dewitjy/automizeSupport/automize_903, User Interface Engine Port Setting = = 1967, User Interface Logon Username = dewitjy, User Interface Computer name = itlvdmssvr01

Nov 7, 2006 6:09:26 PM Engine Program = Automize, Engine Version = 7.05, Engine Working directory = /external/dewitjy/automizeSupport, Engine Port = 1967, Engine Username = dewitjy, Engine Computer name = itlvdmssvr01, Engine Instance = 3
Tech Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 11:12 am

Postby Tech Support » Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:19 am

if you start the application from the correct working directory, you should not see any file open errors. There are no file open errors in the output or debug log. where do you see these errors?
Tech Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 11:12 am


Return to Platform specific issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron